



Minutes of the Cabinet

Council Chamber - Guildhall, Swansea

Friday, 13 December 2019 at 10.00 am

Present: Councillor R C Stewart (Chair) Presided

Councillor(s) M C Child E J King J A Raynor

Swansea Council

Councillor(s) R Francis-Davies A S Lewis M Thomas Councillor(s) D H Hopkins A Pugh

Officer(s)

Huw Evans Adam Hill Tracey Meredith Phil Roberts Ben Smith Head of Democratic Services Deputy Chief Executive / Director of Resources Chief Legal Officer / Monitoring Officer Chief Executive Chief Finance Officer / Section 151 Officer

Also present Councillor(s): S Pritchard, A H Stevens

Apologies for Absence

Councillor(s): C E Lloyd

106. Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests.

In accordance with the Code of Conduct adopted by the City and County of Swansea, the following interests were declared:

 Councillor J A Raynor declared a Personal & Prejudicial Interest in Minute 87 "Local Authority Governor Appointments" and stated that she had dispensation from the Standards Committee to Stay, Speak but Not Vote on matters relating to the Appointment of Local Authority Governors.

107. Minutes.

Resolved that the Minutes of the meeting(s) listed below be approved and signed as a correct record:

1) Cabinet held on 21 November 2019.

108. Announcements of the Leader of the Council.

The Leader of the Council congratulated the Tonia Antoniazzi (Gower Constituency), Carolyn Harris (Swansea East Constituency) and Geraint Davies (Swansea West Constituency) for being returned as Members of Parliament following the Parliamentary Election on 12 December 2019.

109. Public Question Time.

No questions were asked.

110. Councillors' Question Time.

No questions were asked.

111. Local Authority Governor Appointments.

The Local Authority Governors Appointment Group submitted a report, which sought approval of the nominations submitted to fill Local Authority (LA) Governor vacancies on School Governing Bodies.

Resolved that:

 The following nominations recommended by the Director of Education in conjunction with the Cabinet Member for Education Improvement, Learning & Skills be approved:

1)	Christchurch Primary	Mrs Donnie Yuen
2)	Penclawdd Primary	Mr Howard Evans
3)	Sketty Primary	Cllr Michael Day
4)	Townhill Primary	Mrs Janet Chaplin
5)	Pontarddulais Comprehensive	Cllr Phillip Downing

112. Financial Procedure Rule 7 - Active Travel Fund Additional Grant 2019/20.

The Cabinet Member for Environment & Infrastructure Management submitted a report which confirmed the outcome of the additional bid for Active Travel Fund (ATF) monies and sought approval for expenditure on the associated projects.

Resolved that:

1) The additional ATF Schemes, together with their financial implications, be approved.

113. Exclusion of the Public.

Cabinet were requested to exclude the public from the meeting during consideration of the item(s) of business identified in the recommendations to the report(s) on the grounds that it / they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as set out in

the exclusion paragraph of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information) (Variation) (Wales) Order 2007 relevant to the items of business set out in the report(s).

Cabinet considered the Public Interest Test in deciding whether to exclude the public from the meeting for the item of business where the Public Interest Test was relevant as set out in the report.

Resolved that the public be excluded for the following item(s) of business.

(Closed Session)

114. Agreed Heads of Terms for Third Party Occupation of Civic Centre.

The Cabinet Member for Delivery and Performance submitted a report which sought consideration of the proposed short term lettings of vacant spaces within the Civic Centre.

Resolved that the recommendations as detailed in the report be approved.

The meeting ended at 10.05 am

Chair

Call In Procedure – Relevant Dates		
Minutes Published:	13 December 2019	
Call In Period Expires (3 Clear Working	23.59 on 18 December 2019	
Days after Publication):		
Decision Comes into force:	19 December 2019	